Public gaffes and private writes!

Just made a complete fool of myself!

My daughter and I often have a phone date in the morning. I ‘walk’ her to work with a chat. It’s not every day but our close connection is something I treasure. Doubly so after you worry at the early stages of parenting and home educating whether they’ll still speak to you when they’re grown ups.

Anyway when the phone rang at the pre-scheduled time, I picked it up and sang a really musical “Hellooooeee” down the line.

Silent pause.

Then; ‘Is that Ross Mountney? This is Katie from Channel Five’ asked a complete stranger. It was a researcher looking for information about home ed and people to contribute to their programme. I felt such an idiot.

You’d think I’d learnt my lesson as this has happened before. Pestered by continual sales calls I could feel irritation mounting every time the phone rang. So when another call came and a strange voice asked ‘Is that Ross Mountney?’ I answered with ‘It depends what you’re selling’.

“I’m not selling anything,’ came a very formal reply. ‘This is your mother’s solicitor’. Cringe!

Why is it I always seem to mess up when I need to look a little bit more intelligent and like I know what I’m about?

Anyway, these gaffes aside Channel Five want to make a programme about home education and wondered if I’d contribute. A serious programme offering information instead of derision and myths would be great, wouldn’t it! I said I might, if this was the case. They’re going to get back in touch – it remains to be seen whether my singing has put them off.

It also remains to be seen if my courage holds out. I find all this public stuff excruciating really. This is after all why I write; I choose the medium that offers the most invisibility (not something publishers want to hear, I know). And it’s enough for me to emerge from my cave and meet others like at the Home Education Fair this Sunday.

Click on the picture for details of The Home Education Fair

Don’t get me wrong; I truly love meeting people and welcome the opportunity to chat to others. That’s what my work is all about; offering encouragement and support. But I also need encouragement to get out of my reclusive habit.

So if you come along on Sunday and think you’re too scared to come up and say hello to me, take courage too; you won’t be as scared as me. We’ll muddle along through together and I’ll try and answer your questions intelligently and as if I know what I’m about! 🙂

Hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

