Give yourself a Home Educating birthday!

Someone told me on social media recently that they were celebrating six years home educating. 002

I know there are families who’ve been going a lot longer than this but just one – or any number of years –  is an incredible achievement. Worth celebrating I’d say! Congratulations if you’ve come that far.

When you’re living the home educating life the days and events seem to drift on by in a daily bread sort of way with no particular benchmarks, so it’s easy to forget that what you’re doing is something to celebrate.

When we were tied up in school routines there were little regular achievements that marked the passing of time and events like grades or end of terms, which acted like benchmarks for celebration.

Although, as my faithful followers will know, I have no respect for test results and it was as much a feeling of relief as celebration when the end of a term came along. But there was no getting away from the fact that they brought the state of progress to our attention, marking either transitions or achievements. And this is something we can overlook when we home educate.

So it’s worth marking a date to celebrate in some way the mammoth achievement that home educating is. A year’s home education birthday is a great opportunity to do so. Have a cake. Congratulate yourself. Celebrate with friends.

When will you be celebrating yours?  Do share your celebrations, what you celebrate and how, I’d love to hear.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Give yourself a Home Educating birthday!

  1. I am always unsure when our homeed anniversary should be as we decided when our eldest was a baby (2004/5) that she wouldn’t go to school. By the anniversary of the day she should have started school she was already reading and writing and we were well established in the local home ed community. With the push to free child care and nursery etc becoming early and early school sees a reduction in hours spent away from home for some children.

    We acknowledge Learn Nothing Day on July 24th each year and have arranged a Not Back to School picnic annually at end of August since 2009. Those are our markers now I guess.

  2. A wonderful post, Ross. I totally agree that it is easy to forget the significant milestones. As we use a set curriculum and books, I used to give homemade certificates to acknowledge acquired skills and when they completed a workbook. It meant so much to them especially when they were younger. We also have a meal out to celebrate the completion of a level. Key is making it work for us and our family as opposed to reproducing a system.

  3. Hi ross Thank you for all wonderful work you have written . I am very new to home eduction so you can properly guess can guess what going through . I must say that I have seen a lot positive things in my child after taking out school. He is asthmatic Also has allergies Every since he stop goon school he had not had one asthma attack.

    Child alots social problem he was being bullied at school . But now he so much happier ,I am so happy and proud with my decision.

    He is very bright child I never felt that school helping reach his potential . Having said my question to you.

    I am not a teacher I would like my son to reach his potential but I am sure I have lots questions . This journey is very exciting and frightening the same time because I do much more . I would like him Study all the academic that he likes.

    Can you advice me please .

    Nasra Many thanks

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Hi Nasra, glad to hear your son is much happier – sounds like Home Ed was the right decision for you. Many thanks for dropping in and letting me know, plus your kind remarks.
      We all worry about our children’s potential but most parents find that with encouragement and support, by research on the net and by observing how other HE parents approach it, that they manage to facilitate their children in reaching it. You might find it reassuring to connect with these other families via Facebook (there’s a Home Education UK Facebook group and another called The Freedom Journey) to see how this happens, how others approach their child’s learning and to find support. Most other parents are not teachers but can help their children just as well as a professional with a class of over thirty! So try not to worry – you’ll find your way but it does take time.

Leave a Reply

