Hips and tits and what makes women great

hips and tits flowerI am truly honoured. Last week someone tagged me as one of their inspirational women in International Women’s Day. I was so touched. I’m also a bit ashamed that I’m a tad reticent at doing the same.

But it made my day swell with goodness. I’d like to pass that on so am determined to change and practise that; practise compliments too, like another friend of mine is always ready with. We all need a little bit of encouragement and that’s a great way to give it.

So much of what women do goes unnoticed. It’s nice to have something like IWD to try and make a bit of a difference – even if I am a bit late. But then, we can champion women all year round.

Both my girls are fierce champions of equality of opportunity and the right of women to be heard in a male dominated world – without having to take their clothes off.

Yep – they still feel the male dominance and there was I thinking we’d changed that for this generation. There are clearly miles and miles to go.

But it doesn’t help when you have images plastered over social media by women who clearly think that it’s only a sexy body, pouty lips or big tits that make them worth anything. Charley showed me some. This is not the message we want to educate girls to believe.

And my message to her and all women – and men – out there who think like that is this:

It doesn’t matter how slim your hips are, or how big your tits are, it’s what your EYES and your ACTIONS say that make you great.

Pass it on!

Leave a Reply

