5 things I’d ask for Christmas

It’s too early for Christmas but my cactus doesn’t seem to think so.  cactus dawn 11.15 003

Nor do the shops. Nor the telly!

Far too early surely to have these endless tedious adverts as the supermarket giants try to outdo each other, or Radio Drivel blaring out of shops in town.

I don’t know how the staff stand it and it’s already been going on a while.

I’m increasingly uncomfortable about us being encouraged to climb onto this Christmas treadmill earlier and earlier, as if we have so much to buy we’ve no chance of fitting it into a week or two’s preps in December.

I have great difficulty marrying some of my values, those that uphold the value of the earth and our responsibility towards it, within a culture of Christmas that promotes nothing more than consumerist vandalism basically.

I know many families like us must be fairly easy to give presents to; we always have things we need not having the disposable income so many have. More difficult I find to give to those who have so much it’s generated a culture of satirical junk destined for the dump much of the time. Wish we could bypass this madness.

I love giving presents. But I’m not hoodwinked into believing that more is best or is a sign of more love. Something home made or carefully thoughtful fills me up, however little. Tasty treats we wouldn’t normally have are a delight.

But when I see stands and stands of pointless putrid rubbish, designed for the sake of buying for those who have so much it’s impossible to know what to give, it rather fills me with despair. Especially in the light of so many being in such desperate need, even for basics, even for a roof over their head. I know people who spend more on decorative trappings, to be binned after the season, than we’d probably spend on food in a week!

So I would ask as you do your Christmas preps to perhaps rethink this. To consider five things: –

  1. how much less you could buy this time,
  2. how much less waste you could create,
  3. how much less energy you could use,
  4. how you could make your Christmas more recyclable,
  5. and how you could give to those who have less than you do.

And I’ll do the same and see if we can come up with a Christmas that is less pollutive and truly based in giving more than having!

Do share your ideas in the comments – I always love to read them.

6 thoughts on “5 things I’d ask for Christmas

  1. I have loads of Christmas decorations but they are what has been built up over 30 years, long before I was even a mother – they are made up of memories from Christmases past and time spent with loved ones. So don’t bin them after the event because when you unpack them with your children when they are older, they bring squeals of delight as we bring out old friends that we have forgotten about.

  2. This year I have gone through Pinterest and made lip balm, chocolate bath salts, marmalade, chilli jam and a gingerbread body scrub. Oh and a small batch of bath bombs. It’s been fun, I have learnt loads and saved money by making rather than buying these gifts. I like prepping long in advance (and we have over 30 close family members between us,) and it takes a lot of thought and organising to get gifts and post them in time, but we don’t have loads of cash and I hate the rat race too. It’s the mantra of quantity and price spent, over quality or meaningful which is most distressing.
    Anyhow I am excited to give these more home made things this year.

Leave a Reply

