Mood miracle!

I know it's not that sharp but can you spot the three species we managed to capture in this pic?

I know it’s not that sharp but can you spot the three species we managed to capture in this pic?

It’s amazing how one little moment can become a mood miracle!

Last week was a bit of a wretched one. They can get like that sometimes, can’t they!

I’ve done book events for the new book ‘Who’s Not In School’ and much travelling recently, working in between, and was a bit exhausted with it despite meeting lots of lovely complimentary and sweet people.

So I strode out under the sky early this weekend; for even cloudy is supposed to help the spirits. The tide was seeping over the marshland in that calm and comforting way it does, lifting birds and gently filling creeks. I watched it a while.

Then coming back to the garden I saw that our Buddleia was bedecked with more butterflies than I’ve ever seen in one place. So rather than going in and getting involved back indoors, probably back at laptop, I took a cuppa and sat there and watched them. Not something I’ve ever done – or thought of doing – before.

There were so many I started to count and in just a few minutes counted ten different species. And there were more than one of each species so you can see how many there were in all.  I was totally absorbed.

And then I noticed something else had happened; something honeyed had happened to my spirits.

The doldrums of the week had vanished. Banished by mindful attention to the butterflies and that natural life outside the laptop.

I must remember, must remember, must remember, to take a few mindful moments outside each day and then maybe the week wouldn’t get so far down as wretched. I used it all the time as an antidote to children’s indoor moods. I’ve got to remember that I need it just as much!

And if you’re interested in butterfly watching you and the kids can get involved with the butterfly count this August – another great reason to be outside.

4 thoughts on “Mood miracle!

  1. Love this! It is so true. Nature is such a tonic but it’s so easy to forget what helps when you get overwhelmed with negativity. I was just talking about this with a friend today. We talked about putting notes inside cupboards or places we often go to during our days to remind us of these things! I definitely plan to do this, especially come winter time when I am regularly feeling wretched. Sorry you have had a rough time Ross. Keep your chin up and keep writing because there are lots of us that depend on you ☺xx

  2. Great post. I had a similar experience about six years ago, it had got to the stage when I really had forgotten how to feel joy for a time when I noticed a ladybird going about its business, it was so cute that I forgot about my life and was concentrating wholly on the little creature. The amazement when I felt a state of happiness creeping up through my person was overwhelming. Obviously so because I still remember it.

Leave a Reply

