Tolerance for those who do it differently

I’m hatching a follow up to my newest book ‘Who’s Not In School?’books 001

We’ve had some lovely reviews. But I’m also trying to take on board the not so lovely ones and make adjustments, give people what they want.

Some want an image of Home Ed respectability and felt Little Harry will give home schoolers a bad reputation. Others complained it was an image of a structured family and left others out. It’s difficult knowing who to please!

It’s also difficult to capture a good story with just a few words to play with. Far easier to indulge a writer’s passion for lots and lots of them!

Some of the children’s stories I’ve read in the past have been fantastic. Some not so good.

The best, I think, are stories that leave you wondering and talking with the children, like ‘Horrid Henry’ (by Francesca Simon) – what a child! Or ‘Pippi Longstocking’ (Astrid Lindgren), who lives outside all our preconceptions. Or books with a message like ‘Wonder’ (P J Palacio) which raises our awareness of our response to children with facial disfigurement.

I suppose my message with Harry was that whoever they are and whatever they are doing children have reasons for what they do. Admittedly some of these doings need moderating as they mature and increase their understanding of why certain actions might not be desirable, if they want to become happy and involved members of society that is. But we need to show patience and understanding in our guidance until they get there.

And especially tolerance of all the different types of people there are in the world. And of those who want to do it differently.

Home educating families are among those who want to do things a bit differently.

But everyone is different really; all children are different whether in school or out, all parents are different. All writers are different too and produce a different kind of work.

Tolerance and understanding are the keys to us all living gracefully together whoever we are and whatever we purport.

10 thoughts on “Tolerance for those who do it differently

  1. I got this on Kindle and as always I have a peruse myself before reading it to my 3 year old.
    Firstly, just in general it I thought it was a lovely book (home ed or not, I’d recommend it as a book for preschool age).

    My initial concern was Henry’s behaviour. It wasn’t that I thought he was particularly naughty, in fact I do know of toddlers who are like that and most people are aware that that behaviour isn’t naughty as such, it’s just pure curiosity. I was selfishly thinking that I don’t want to give my 3 year old any ideas of doing those things. My curiosity got the better of me and I read it to him anyway. He loved it and I had to read it three times straight away to him. The bit where Harry fills the toilet just had my lad laughing, but rather than thinking it was a good idea, he said “That’s funny; you don’t put toys in the toilet, but he’s only little.”
    My fears were put to rest, and I should learn to give my child more credit.
    I look forward to the next one.
    Also, I might even get the Horrid Henry books out from the spare room, where I hid then after the mother in law got them. I thought they were unsuitable, maybe they won’t be – but possibly he needs another year of life under his belt before those.

    I’m happy to see more books featuring home ed children. Yes, all children are different, as books about school children vary, so will home ed characters.
    What is it my dad always blethered on to me? You can’t please everyone.

    • What an insightful comment – thank you so much for taking the time to write it here. And what an intelligent young chap your son is – obviously due to your parenting! I completely get what you’re saying about the children getting ideas we maybe don’t want them to have. I think some of the non-home educators we came up against didn’t want their kids to mix with ours for fear of them getting ideas about not going to school. But like you say we have to be brave, and trust that as we educate our children to think, they’ll be able to assess situations accurately for themselves – like your child. I really appreciate your comment so thank you again. And all the best. x

  2. The other day my 4 year old twins had been particularly full of beans and excitement in play…throwing their blankets on the floor, climbing on my windowsill, making a royal mess at dinner time with rice all over the floor and table…generally being “a handful” 😛 when I said to them, “you’re being naughty” they replied “that’s not naughty” ! So it made me wonder, perhaps that’s it, perhaps they simply do not see what they do as being naughty, but fun, and mums being annoying haha!

    Different people will read your book differently. I think an indication as to what the book is about or aimed to be about before it release may help? I think as many people said “a home educator has written a book about HE” they assumed it would hold more? From the sample I read on amazon it was funny, I am hoping to purchase it soon for my own adventurous twins, I think they may enjoy it haha!

  3. What a lovely explanation 🙂 We have thoroughly enjoyed the book and I’ve been quite startled by the criticism because Little Harry is so similar to my 3 year old! It’s been great having the reminder that he has reasons for what he does.

  4. I love the book. My daughters are 2 and 4, so we are just beginning our Home Ed journey, and it introduces it perfectly, when they are bombarded by school propaganda from every other angle. Loving your work!

    • Thank you so much. That’s lovely to hear as we’ve had quite a lot of criticism about the story lately, so I’m boosted by your compliments. You’ve endorsed the reason I wrote it in the first place! 🙂 I so appreciate your support and you taking the time to comment. Wishing you all the very best. Have a lovely Home Ed time! x

  5. I feel that writing from your perspective and your experience and passion is the most important thing and that is what I like about your writing and find so inspiring. We can take from it what works for us and be inspired by your authenticity.

    • That’s really encouraging Frances, thank you, especially in the light of so many criticisms recently! I think people forget that we only do this just to offer something to others!

Leave a Reply

