Education is for living – not just for politics!

Is this all that education is about?

Education! I’ve been going on about it a long time, even if not the education other people think of.

When I talk about it I mean education for life, not schooling, that’s something different. And I’m still being educated now. We all are, even if we’re not aware of it.

I suppose my awareness started way back when I was in school. I wasn’t very old when thought; ‘this is crap! This is so not for me’! But I didn’t believe myself back then; after all, what do kids know?

Moving into teaching I began to see it wasn’t good for a some others either, pupils nor staff. And I also began to see that schooling was not for true education, it was just for schools. For the big industrialisation process that schooling has become.

We went on to home educate partly because we didn’t want to force our children to fit that industrialisation process. We wanted their education to be for living their lives, not for perpetuating school lives and school businesses. We saw education as the personal developmental process of an individual – not an industry. Or an establishment.

Admittedly, we wanted our youngsters to grow and develop towards living and working as part of a community. But that’s about community more than industrial cloning which the government has pushed schooling towards. Communities are about people and education is about people too.

Education is about learning how to live together, how to communicate and contribute, how to further both our individual understanding and world understanding too.

And there are many young people now who have grown their education in individual ways through home educating – or self education as it more accurately is – towards that outcome. Although outcome is the wrong word because education doesn’t really have an outcome, as in an end, it is ongoing and has continuing new, updated outcomes throughout life. This is what we need to understand about education. It doesn’t have limits.

Education is not only about schools.

Education is not only about the short space of time youngsters are in institutions, or about institutionalisation.

Education is not just a political tool which MPs are wielding at the moment to gain our votes.

Education is for life not just for politics. And that might be a good thought to keep in mind when you try and weave your way through the confusion of policies and promises politicians are bandying about in order to tempt our vote.

Education is for life, not just for votes!

What kind of education – and life – would you really like for your child?

4 thoughts on “Education is for living – not just for politics!

  1. Dear Ross,

    I am currently reading “A Funny Kind of Education” and you are all I think about ! To the point where I thought I saw you yesterday coming out of Leigh Woods in Bristol ! I then realized it actually was our librarian, I’ve always thought she bears a huge resemblance to you !
    Anyway, thank you ever so much for your books, for sharing your experience which resonates so much with ours on so many levels ; I’ve had my happy child back for more than 3 months now and we just hope we’ll be able to carry on with our home educating lifestyle for as long as possible. Long live your posts, articles and philosophy ! Long live home educating and happy children !

    • That is such a delightful and uplifting message to find when actually I was struggling to write anything yesterday! It is immensely rewarding to hear your response to my work. THANK YOU! So, encouraged by your support I shall endeavour to keep at it! 🙂 Many thanks again Farida. Wishing you continued family happiness. x

Leave a Reply

