Still speaking…!

Will the children still be speaking to me when they’re older?

I used to wonder this sometimes – you do so worry when you’re a a parent!

And when irrational fear really got hold I could imagine even worse scenarios: what if they grow to hate me? What if they think I’m absolutely mad for taking them out of school? What if they never forgive me for what I’ve done to them?

I guess these questions sneak through many a parent’s mind, most particularly home educating parents. Please tell me it’s not just me!

So I thought I’d tell you not to worry because they do – they are still speaking. In fact both of the girls at different times have told me I’m among their best friends. And considering they do have great friends – yep; people still have friends even though they don’t go to school! – I rate that as a great honour.

We’re still the family team we ever were, described in ‘A Funny Kind of Education’. Amazingly those two little girls in there are now grown up, confident, competent and, of course beautiful, young women.

I’ve been talking to some other grown up home educated young people recently and one mentioned the family unity she felt through home educating, where you all pulled together rather than apart, like some of her friends seem to. In fact, I don’t know any home educating family who have ended up like my worse scenarios, so no need to worry!

Our team still loves spending time together. We still have a good giggle. We talk about everything and anything. We share much. Of course we’re still speaking!

And I’m going away tomorrow to share a few days with my eldest so it will go quiet on here for a while. She and I will be busy gabbing and catching up and the only interruptions allowed will probably be caused by cake! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Still speaking…!

  1. So, here’s the truth. Every parent who’s worth a damn worries about their kids, whether they are in school or out of it. The parents who are worrying are those who don’t worry – who just think their kids will magically be okay. Your kids, and you, will be fine – I can read it between the lines of your post. All the best to you and yours. xx

  2. A beautiful post by a beautiful person, and my best friend. Can’t wait to see you tomorrow mum!

Leave a Reply

