Growing flowers – parenting young people

2013-07-24 12.22.07 Here are two flowers standing by a cluster of poppies!!

It’s the first time we’ve all managed to be together at the same time since Christmas when I snapped them among the decorations. This time, instead of cosying up round the fire, we were picnicking in warm fields.

And seeing them here made me think that parenting is like growing flowers.

You set the seeds in a nurturing climate, feed them with encouragement and care whilst they grow strong. They need the right kind of base and the right kind of atmosphere. Over feeding doesn’t help, nor does hot housing – you’ll end up with something too forced and weak without any strength or depth to their experience and character to help them withstand and understand the rigours of the outside. They need a temperate balance in everything.

And of course they need love.

Love means respect, care, attention. All living things need that to flourish from plants to pets to people.

Give them all this, protect them whilst they’re young and tender, then acclimatise them to the outer world and you can expect to see your own kind of blooms!

7 thoughts on “Growing flowers – parenting young people

  1. Hello, I’m a HE mum who educates a 9yr old girl. I have a couple of questions if I could impose on you? I have your books and they are great so thanks for writing them for families like me. My first question is if your girls didn’t take exams how did they manage to get into further/higher ed? And my daughter often doesn’t want to work at all and I’m really worried that she’s never going to learn any more than what school taught her (I began HE this APril) sometimes it’s a battle to even get her to open a simple English book? I do hope you can guide me and help.

    Many many thanks
    Michelle & Lucy

    Sent from my iPad

    • Hi Michelle. Thanks for your comment – and compliments. Our children went onto do BTEC exams at college which count for Uni entrance – they were accepted to FE college without GCSEs as colleges are beginning to recognise what motivated learners HE kids are. A friend who did no exams at all went onto Uni when he was sure what subject he wanted to do by doing an Access to Uni course. They are all sorts of routes! And as for the boring bits – actually, when you’re out of school you can learn English in so many more inspired ways than academic exercises! Check out some of the other Home Ed websites and you’ll see what I mean … and I’ll send you a longer email! x

Leave a Reply

