the Best Things about Home Educating…

The world becomes our learning ground

The world becomes our learning ground

What are the three best things about home educating would you say?

I was thinking about how I would answer that question the other day.

Having home educated our children and watched them blossom out into the wider world now, I think my answers now would be very different from when I first started out.

Back then, the answers would have been short and sweet: –

– JOY at watching them develop.
– FREEDOM to do so much.
– NO MORE petty school policies and politics causing family rifts.

Now, with those years of having experienced it and watched their education develop before our eyes, I’ve learnt a lot and may have more considered answers – even if they are a bit of a mouthful: –

– the chance it gives to use any approach to learning that pays attention to the complete child; health and well-being included.

– the delight at the world being our learning ground (home education being a misleading term), rather than just one narrow institution.

– the wonderful opportunity for our children to be themselves, get to know themselves, extend their intelligence and knowledge, confidence and capabilities for use in the real world, beyond the oppressive culture of a school.

So, what would your three best things be?

Do leave a comment. It would be wonderful to make a whole collection here, both from new and the seasoned home educators. Then others thinking about the option will have such a variety of delights to read and they may be tempted to go beyond just thinking!

35 thoughts on “the Best Things about Home Educating…

  1. What an encouraging set of comments. I asked my ds, who shall be 10 later this month, for his top three favourite things about being educated differently, not at school. He said this and I typed from his dictation:

    1) Having fun.
    2) I get to re-enact some of the things I learn with my toys. History, which I love.
    3)That I’m not miserable like my friends who say they hate school. And what makes me especially sad is that, because of the way they learn History, they hate it. I tell them that if they could learn it the way I learn it, they would love it.

    I ask them lots of questions because they ask ME lots of questions, and they all say that they learn the same things over and over, like the Egyptians or the Second World War. It makes me sad because the way we learn it [History] makes it so fun and interesting.

    I once asked some of my friends, just as a joke, what would they do if I started a revolution against schools, and abolished it, like abolishing slavery. They all said they would join in. I didn’t really mean it, I was joking and I was a bit shocked at their answers.

  2. Pingback: No One Size Fits All « At Home Woman

  3. The ability to travel whenever we want; the opportunities to sleep in whever we want :D; the Freedom to pursue whatever and whenever we want. Home Education is Liberating, that is why it ROCKS!! 😀

  4. 1 – Freedom – being able to do things when we all want to, visiting places places in term time, going on holiday in term time, being able to spend as much time as we want visiting, learning, playing, living life !
    2 – Family time – Spending lots of precious time together and with our family, i often think how lovely it is that my boys get to spend lots of time playing with their great gramps, he has taught them so much about life and history !
    3 – Learning – Letting my boys play and learn at their own pace and watching just how amazing they are at learning by themselves in their own time, truely wonderful ! Learning with them and having the most amazing, deep conversations about everything.

  5. My son can learn in a way that suits him. which then makes him at ease
    No stress of people (school) telling him or me that he should do more work,cope more, accept he has to and deal with it !.
    Seeing him happy and grow and flourish, be a confident little boy. instead of a empty sad lost lonely worried soul .

  6. I just asked ds (10) this question. He has been home educated since June.
    Here are his ‘off the top of his head’ answers, spilled out in one breath, which made me smile:
    Learning more because it’s one to one.
    No stress – having fun.
    Being able to light fires and go camping in the woods.
    Learning about animals.

  7. I’ve had a few attempts as submitting a reply but here goes

    (1) Freedom – To go with the weather and our mood

    (2) Going with the flow not trying to swim upstream

    (3) Going to places when they are empty and cheap

  8. #1 I can hear my boys laugh because they are happy and fulfilled #2 I can hear them laugh 24/7 #3 I can hear them laugh at home, in the park, museum, HE group meeting, in the UK or abroad.

  9. Three best things about home educating are…. 1. Seeing my sons happy personality return……..2. Knowing my son is safe and happy…….3. Watching my son enjoy and develop in his learning process

  10. Just being with them – having fun and lots of cuddles.
    Flexibility – being able to change plans according to the needs of each individual at any time.
    Watching their amazing creativity, listening to them and learning from them.

    I love this post, thank you for making me think about the good things now when I’m feeling tired and ill 🙂

  11. You describe a holistic approach to education, and I wholeheartedly agree that this must be the best approach; however, what is the solution for people that economically are forced to put their children in mainstream school, or even their young babies in childcare, which seems sadly to happen so much now? Is there some sort of middle ground or middle way?

    • Times are hard for everyone and we all have very difficult choices to make. Many home educators manage on a very, very tight budget, some single parents too. On examination, there is sometimes more choice than we realise.

      • So true. What a lovely post, and I am loving the comments too. My husband and I have made lots of sacrifices to be able to be with our children. We both reduced our hours to work part time and consequently now have a smaller home, spent years without a car, we budget budget budget, there never seems to be any money, but you know, that is more than ok by us. It was hard at first but SO worth it. We don’t have a lot of the ‘stuff’ people who have a larger/double income have (excessive mortgage, TV, cars, enough bedrooms, foreign holidays, many gadgets, meals out, hair cuts, memberships, new clothes, meat (that took a while to get used to), central heating!), buy we have extremely rich lives. When we were both earning we never thought that we could survive with any loss of income, but when we did loose the income we adapted very quickly. So I think the middle ground comes from a deep and honest assessment of the ‘things’ in your life and asking yourself do I want this more than I want to be with my child? I know there are people in more difficult situations than me, but if you can cut just a few things out of your life so that you can afford even an extra day a month unpaid at home with your child it is worth it.

  12. Having our own timetable that we can change to suit our mood, health and unexpected visitors
    Watching my children develop into their own personalities
    Simply being together, spending quality time together with my most favourite small beings.

Leave a Reply

