Notes, quotes and little piggies!

What’s your favourite quote about education?

I’ve come across some wonderful ones over the years we home schooled our kids. Even before really, when I first started to study education.

Many of them inspired me to think deeply about our children’s learning and what was done to them under the guise of educating them. And I suppose finally led to questioning whether a school style of education was always the best or only approach.

It kicked off with reading John Holt; my favourite ‘How Children Fail’. There are so many thought provoking ideas it’s hard to choose which had the most effect.

Here’s one to think about; ‘The true test of intelligence is not how much we know how to do, but how we behave when we don’t know what to do.’

I’ve always believed that the sign of an educated person is not what they know or what qualifications they have, but what they do with what they know and how they behave as a result, like Holt suggests.

Another quote that influenced our home education was from Einstein; ‘Imagination is more important than knowledge’.

In other words, whatever you know; it’s whether you have the imagination to do anything worthwhile with it that counts!

But the best one of all I think made me laugh out loud in its simplicity. It is an anonymous quote, although sometimes accredited to Mark Twain, which I found very early on in our homeschool days – really set me thinking; ‘Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig.’

I’m not suggesting children are pigs. But it does illustrate I think how much of what goes on in schools is as futile as teaching pigs to sing. It goes on… ‘the pig has his own road to follow his own lesson to learn’.

Exactly! So do kids. I had this pinned on our notice board to remind me.

Our mission as parents is perhaps to balance the lessons that our children want to learn with the lessons they need in order to live their lives successfully within our world.

9 thoughts on “Notes, quotes and little piggies!

  1. It is so funny when folks think that people He because they can’t bare to let the child go. My child went to school and they did a damn good job of putting him off learning and made him miserable. In fact, I spent so much time teaching himself that I thought I might as well do it myself and have a happy child. I am not saying that all schools are the same but what I am saying is that it was school which made me home school. The quotations are wonderful.

      • i have a friend who was a teacher for about 8 years but is about to start home schooling. did you see the recent cover of time magazine? with the attachment parenting? she’s exactly like that.

  2. “You can teach a student a lesson for a day; but if you can teach him to learn by creating curiosity, he will continue the learning process as long as he lives.“ ~Clay P. Bedford
    I consider it my job to kindle curiosity!
    I haven’t come across the pig singing quote before but it’s an apt one! I think it’s important to get that balance between what we think our kids should be learning and what they actually want to learn. It’s a process of letting go and accepting, and that is the trickiest thing in the world!

Leave a Reply

