Walk for all seasons…4

 Greens; lewd, loud and bursting. I feel like bursting myself to see the birth of it; I’ve walked here all weathers and seemed to have waited so long to be this side of winter.

Last time I photographed this I’d tramped through drifted snow to get here. Now it’s come full circle and is almost back to where I started these pictures for all seasons (see last June, November and this February) and it’s absolutely gorgeous. Gracious with freshness and fast filling in the spaces of sky with shy new growth I feel like tasting.

What you can’t see here is the bird song. The high overhead Larks dripping music down the breezes, the shrill randy Robin song and the succulent melody of the Blackbird singing from the branches. You also cannot imagine the smell; the rich aroma of drying earth, drying bark and moist young greenery broken by my boot letting cut grass smell into the air.

I think I may be a little drunk upon it all and might try singing myself!

Being in touch with it I appreciate firsthand how important the earth is, not for our pleasure, but for the succour of our existence. You have to experience it to value it, you have to value it to respect it; respect prevents you from trashing it.

It’s essential all our kids get out there in order to learn that valuable lesson. How about giving them a walk for each season too? Take a picture of your favourite place to walk every month and by this time next year you’ll have a whole strip to illustrate the passing of the seasons, the revolution of the earth.

And to appreciate it even more, Green Parent magazine suggests ways to celebrate Earth Day (see here) on 22nd – another opportunity to raise consciousness and responsibility to our earth and get the kids connected to it. An essential part of their education.

9 thoughts on “Walk for all seasons…4

  1. I like the idea of photographing the same scene through the seasons. We might try it!
    The last couple of Sundays I’ve begged my dh to take us on a nature walk near us. We get out on the lawn to play, but it’s nothing like God’s wild garden. My dad addicted us to being out in nature and now I feel empty and dry when I can’t get out regularly. I hope to pass this ‘affliction’ on to my kids, too!!

Leave a Reply

