Post holiday blues and risking pride…

 Two hundred dark solitary miles on motorways and you can do a lot of thinking.

As I negotiated the back-ups on the M25, a narrowly missed pile up and flashing blue lights up my arse I was thinking about how the little girl I once had learning at home full time is now miles away from it. She’s grown into the brave and beautiful young lady I’ve just stayed with, who is now working hard and paying her own bills, getting involved in lots of projects and enjoying a pulsing social life.

And I’d never have envisioned, as we worried about maths and English and the implications of not going to school, this independent young lady who’s a whole era away from home education now making her way in the world, where whether you went to school or not is completely irrelevant. Except perhaps for people occasionally observing your education must have been a good one.

While I’ve been away catching up with this one my other little home schooler rang to tell me that she’d had her final offer from university so now she’d got offers from all the ones she interviewed at.

And at the risk of taking a fall I think I might be a little bit proud of these lovely young people and what they are doing now, especially after all the scepticism that came our way when we announced our decision to homeschool. Not to mention parried the judgemental remarks and comments about being tied to apron strings.

So I’ve been thinking about any new home schooling families reading this and thought I’d mention that those little children at home with you now will one day be doing something similar to mine. Imagine that! And you may also grow to know that a good education is far less about maths and English or any academic stuff really for most of the time, as I’ve talked about many times on this blog, and far more about nurturing a mindful and caring person.

And as for apron strings; they really have nothing to do with it.

13 thoughts on “Post holiday blues and risking pride…

  1. We need more than one word for “pride” in English. In German, it is clear if you are talking about arrogance or pleasure in association. God obviously doesn’t mind being ‘proud’ of associating with us. He often refers to being our creator, father, husband, etc. and Jesus says specifically not to be ashamed of our relationship to Him or He’s going to be ashamed of us.

    I wish you and your girls much joy. There is a lot of satisfaction in being an honor to my parents, so I know they are happy. 😀

    Blessings on your new journey, Narrator!! I’m one of a whole tribe of dyslexics. We can do amazingly well (especially with spellcheck!) and one of my bro.s is an engineer now. God is at work in all things. 🙂

    • Thank you for your good luck message. I am dyslexic too – one of the 1st generation to be diagnosed as such back in the 1970s. I was called thick and stupid at school and told I’d never be able to achieve anything in my life. But, I have a masters degree in history from Cambridge University. I also have post-graduate diplomas and certificates in computer science from the OU. I have spent the last 30 years having a very good and successful career in IT. Thick – hah – I don’t think so!

      My eldest has dyslexia too and has a very prestigious higher-education diploma in childcare – despite going to an appalling state school who didn’t understand her and didn’t try to help her (I hadn’t heard of home education then!).

      The journey has only just started for my little one (despite spending his first 4 years of schooling in a very well-known very expensive independent/private school!) but I know he’ll succeed in life – I just have to get him through the next few years first.

      • Course you’re not thick and it’s so great to hear our confidence in denying that early start in life – congratulations on your achievements. And thanks for putting your story here.
        I’m sure you’ll do great for your little one, enjoy your time together and the education will fall into place naturally. Anything I can help with then please email me, if you’ve questions about home ed. you may find some help in my book. All the very best. x

    • Thanks so much – and I totally understand about the ‘faith’ bit. There were of course times like that for us too but chin up – you’ll be in this position one day. Just remember that it’s definitely easier than keeping faith with institutionalised education!

  2. So pleased for you Ross- you give me inspiration for my two, whom I am not all concerned about. One wore the apron yesterday, when he cooked up a storm, and the other did Pythagoras, whilst helping to lay the base for the new greenhouse. Good luck to you all 🙂

  3. I came across your blog yesterday when I was searching the internet for resources for home schooling. Your blog has given me a lot of encouragement for, what has been for our family, a massive (very recent) decision to home school our dyslexic 8 year old from September. Thank you for sharing your story. You should be very proud of your achievement and your lovely girls.

    • That’s really heartening to know. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a comment. Just in case you hadn’t seen it there’s some stuff about dyslexia further back in the blogs and the stories people left in the comments are quite enlightening too! The decision to HE is always massive but we never ever once regretted it – I wish the same for you! Very best wishes.

Leave a Reply

