Whack in the head!

Wham! You carry on doing the same old thing then the glaringly obvious need for change whacks you in the head. Other times it creeps up on you like a pain in the tooth or a stone in the shoe – you put up with it for so long then, Biff, you can’t believe you didn’t notice it sooner.

It was like this when we withdrew the kids from school. There was a little humming and hahing, wibbling and wobbling, then we just did it and never looked back. Kicked ourselves for not doing it sooner.

And it’s like this again now as I realise the dark and dismal blog theme I had before, that’s all dull and academic looking, didn’t illustrate the COLOUR and INSPIRATION of home educating, learning, children and parenting in general. Not to mention the JOY!

Time for change.

It might not stay like this. Like with home schooling kids or parenting, life has to flex with the needs of the time. And kids’ needs change so rapidly you have to be acrobatic to keep up.

But it’s important to keep your learning days and your parenting lightweight, as I want this blog to be. There may be dull or hardworking or serious moments but that doesn’t mean that overall you can’t LEARN WHAT YOU LOVE AND LOVE WHAT YOU LEARN. As you should with any education. If you don’t – I would make changes.

Anyway, despite changes in appearance, you’ll still be able to come here for encouragement and support with home educating, inspiration and empathy with getting through life as a parent, and hopefully even the odd laugh.

Do let me know what you think. And if there’s any home schooling concerns you have, let me know those too and I can talk about them here and help others along the way.

10 thoughts on “Whack in the head!

  1. Always good to do some online spring cleaning – much easier than the real stuff around the house 😉

    I seem to only just squeeze in time to write my blog each day – Without home educating children it would be a masterpiece of editing and style but then, I wouldn’t have anything to write about!

    • Thanks for posting a comment Katie – my two home edders are moving beyond the home now so I’ve no excuse but I still don’t have a masterpiece of editing and style! But I’m still here for any home edders who want help and support – do pass it on for me. Very best wishes. x

  2. Wow! Me like 😀 Bright, uplifting, cheerful yet soothing also, lovely choice of colours. Coincidentally, I’m about to change the look of my blog too, just need to find some uninterrupted time … whatever that is *lol*

  3. I’m the same Jane! I think I burrrr away just like the laptop hums! We may bemoan the challenges kids and home edding brings sometimes, but it certainly keeps life spicy and sweet! Thanks for posting. BWs

  4. Oooh, love this new look!! And, yes, I think I’m constantly monitoring in a ‘back of the mind processing’ kind of way. Not just our home ed but all aspects of life. Children are great at moving the goalposts as soon as you think you’ve got the hang of something, aren’t they?! As is life in general! Gotta keep moving forward, or sideways, or whichever way keeps it fresh and working 🙂

Leave a Reply

