The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Great film. I was so absorbed I even lost focus on the chocolates and that doesn’t happen often. It was just so full of colour, characters and Indian charisma.

Whether it’s a book, film, article or website I usually come away with something. This time it was a quote from John Lennon used in the film. It starts like this:

‘Everything will be okay in the end…’

I used to say this often to the kids when they were going through challenging patches. I used to say it a lot to myself when we were home educating. What I wasn’t aware of at the time was the second bit that goes with it – the bit that’s really pertinent to home education. In fact it could be a homeschool motto…

‘Everything will be okay in the end, because if it’s not okay, it’s not the end.’

The reason it’s so relevant is because with home education – actually, with any education – there really is no end. There’s always opportunity for more, for making changes, having another go, making things better.

And it’s a good reason why home educating parents shouldn’t worry about what will happen in the future; the future will be okay, because if it’s not okay you’ll change it when you get there.

2 thoughts on “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

  1. I have to agree with you. When I think about how much time and energy I have wasted worrying about things in the past, it makes me shudder. To be honest, if I had worried about Loony Literature, I would not have started it. There would be no Laboratory, monsters or Frankenstein’s Revenge. Although it is natural to worry about the things we care about e.g. our child’s education – we should make a pact to go full throttle and have confidence in our wonderful children.

Leave a Reply

