More comments on ‘Don’t Call Me Stupid’

The programme by Kara Tointon ‘Don’t Call Me Stupid’ about dyslexia has touched people’s hearts again I see and I wanted to thank everyone for visiting here and commenting. It has been wonderful to know that the thoughts I’ve had all these years about our school system failing so many children so miserably has been endorsed and shared and I am not alone – or stupid myself for thinking it!

So thank you to you all for sharing.

I wanted to let you know that there are several blogs here, throughout December and January that touch on the subject and helpful comments from other sufferers so if you’re looking for support it’s probably worth looking through them. The tutor who was involved in the programme; Claire Salter who runs  http://dyslexia-unlocked.com/  also commented.

I also wanted to add my support to all dyslexics reading this:

YOU ARE NOT STUPID! It is the system that is failing – not you! (See blog – Who is it that’s stupid?) and there are a multitude of ways to learn, not just school ways.

I understand how hard it is to be in a school, or community, that does not recognise and support this view. But actually no one, no school, can ever take your intelligence away.

Know that your ability to use the printed word – or not, to organise yourself, etc – is NOT necessarily a reflection of your intelligence.

And there are many intelligent and successful dyslexic entrepreneurs who have built good lives despite what the system labelled them. Richard Branson for one!

Believe in yourself, trust your intuition, keep talking about it and maybe one day it will change!

Best wishes, Ross

7 thoughts on “More comments on ‘Don’t Call Me Stupid’

  1. At the age of 49 I have just been diagnosed as dislexic, it all started 4 months ago I whenI returned to higher education, and refered to the disabiltiy officer for another reason, she picked up something was not quite right. For yearsI have strugged to achieve, branded stupid/lazey at junior school I have had a buring desire to prove every one wrong. To date from traned as a state enrolled nurse I have just stared a mastes degree programm, but boy has it been dificutl. My role as now means I have to wright reports ext and over the last 18 months I have almost reached the point of dispare edit re writ edit the process was on going. However after my diagnosis on Wednesday yesterday and today have been a lot eaiser. I allowed my self to complet the documents in my own time (so what if it took me all day when another person would have sotted it out in in quater of the time) with out getting stressed. My line manager and the head nurse have been fantstic and have made sure I have appled for a work place assessment as will Uni. I have just wached dont call me stupid at times I wanted to cry uncontrollably, at others it has been a revelation. I can now move forward, things will til be a challnage itwil always take me longer to read an article/book, produce work but it no longer fills me withdread and horror. And how have y family and friends responed to this diagnosis, my father’s view is my epilepsey and now my dislexia are a source of embrisment, friends are cool and very supportive.

  2. I had heard reports of the programme “Don’t call me stupid!” but hadn’t actually seen it until I downloaded it last night. One of the most obvious messages of the programme, to me personally, was that it is the support from family and friends which seems to determine how a dyslexic person gets on in life. Cara Tointon suffered but has wonderful supportive parents, the young man who had been in and out of prison does not seem to have had much help. His story made me cry, I thought I was listening to something from a Charles Dickens novel! Let’s hope that this programme has given all sufferers and their family and friends hindsight into the condition and also ways in which to get much needed help.

  3. I still remember my first head teacher telling my parents the reason I could not read was that I was stupid. Now it is thirty years later and I am training to be a teacher myself. Hopefully I will be able to help not hinder my pupils…

  4. I recommend you for your passion and sympathy towards Dyslexics – we need more people in the world like you. I have not seen the programme yet but have just been told that I can download it. I will be doing that this evening. Keep flying the banner Ross, people should not and can not be treated in this manner.

Leave a Reply

