A different subject for a change

I had a shock just before christmas. As shock’s go this was a nice one though; I won a little writing competition! I was so surprised as it was as unexpected as winning the lottery but far nicer as it was won on merit and the prize is so tiny there’s no need for a lot of decision making as to what to do with the money. It’ll cover tea and cake!

It was a deviation from what I normally do being a ‘story of a spiritual experience’ and I think I purged on the page a bit but it turned out quite nice. See what you think – it sure makes a change from harping on about education and parenting. Here it is:

Song of the Blackbird

When I was little my mother would take me with her on her walk round the city’s evening streets. The reason she went was to listen to the Blackbird sing.

I felt a bit odd just standing there, unaware at the time that this was my first experience of the power of nature to feed our spirits. What I was aware of though was a special aura of peace upon her face as she stood upon the grey pavements and listened.

Growing up I began to learn a little more about this power. Freed from the taunts and terrors of schoolgirls that were my daily diet I’d spend hours walking the Lincolnshire marshes where I could be alone in a completely natural environment. Here the traumas of adolescence were released into a feast of distance and solitude. When I was in a natural place, I could be myself, naturally. No need for artificial smiles, bravado, or attachment to gang behaviours you didn’t believe in. You could just stare at the horizon and be peaceful. You could simply be – although I wasn’t aware it had anything to do with spirit just then.

But that practise has stayed with me always and now I know differently.

Now I know that in order for us to be well; body, mind and spirits, we need to check in with the natural universe from where the spirit comes. We need contact with ourselves and contact with the earth and the wider universe. Simple awareness will do, meditation, call it what you will, but it won’t be denied.

As long as I have that, a pain in the hip or a twinge in the joints can all be eased. It just takes a moment of appreciation in the way the sunshine can lick the fenland fields into loveliness and I am well. A walk in the raging winds can whoosh deep rooted storms away from both the land and the soul. The song of the rising Lark can pick up my spirits from my boots and lift them high enough for me to see the light all around and beyond the oppressive troubles we attach ourselves to so deeply we become consumed. The lesson in my mother’s face taught me that early on.

When my mother died I felt crumpled and consumed with grief. I lay on the soggy bedcover not wanting to face the world. Yet something told me to get up and open the window and seek the solace I have always found in a breath of fresh breeze, the smell of soil or sea, the touch of nature’s palm. So I did.

And I do not believe that it was coincidence that, at the very moment I leaned from the bedroom window, the sweetest shrillest blackbird began to sing!

3 thoughts on “A different subject for a change

  1. Well done Ross.
    A good reminder for us ALL to ‘check with the Natural Universe’. Some of us already do and know it’s value! but a great thing for others to consider trying, it is so healing and theraputic.
    Jill x

Leave a Reply

