Goodwill in need

I watched some of the Children In Need programme on Friday. It’s almost compulsive as it gives such a sense of mass party and celebration of goodwill. I know much of it is about celebrity and glamour, but that aside, I find it really uplifting to see people make a difference. And the beauty of it is that even small people, perhaps insignificant in celebrity terms and in my case unglamorous, can make a difference too.

During the day there were teachers in pyjamas and fancy dress in the shops. There were snippets of overheard conversation about the concert in The Royal Albert Hall the night before, and I came across folks doing brave and idiotic things like men waxing delicate bits and long distance uni-cycling. All otherwise insignificant people yet they were making a difference just as well as the more famous. It’s all such a wonderful demonstration of how even very small actions can make a huge impact when we collate them into a bigger picture.

Often, in the course of our every day lives, we think we might make a gesture then in the end don’t bother. But the thing is, when we think good intentions, unless we bother to carry them out they are virtually worthless. It’s the effort of action that makes the difference. And it doesn’t have to be related to money.

Every day, in the course of our normal lives, even though we may not be a glamorous celebrity, we can make a significant difference by one small action; a smile at someone, a helping hand, a moment to listen, offering your ticket if you leave your parking spot early. And collectively these small actions will make a significant impact on making the world a better place, and making our day feel better too.

Unlike Children In Need it has nothing to do with raising millions, it is about raising goodwill. You don’t have to be rich or famous. But just like that campaign does, your small actions of goodwill can make a lovely difference to our everyday world.

One thought on “Goodwill in need

  1. As usual, I applaud your wisdom. How we treat other people does make a difference to the world. We do not need to wait for the big cheeses to organise things like Children in Need to do this. I made a pledge with myself that when I go to the supermarket or the post office, I will give the checkout person or the post office worker a special thank you. When I have finished my transactions, I look them directly in the eye (this is important) I smile and then I say “thank you for your help”. The response is amazing, I have had the most sullen teenagers blossom into beautiful young women before my eyes. When I have told post office workers how I admire the way they don’t get flustered with all the different things they have to in the rush period, I have seen chests massively expand and voices filled with pride tell me tales of post office work. They say that no selfless deed is purely selfless and let me tell you that is right. When I see how my little words lift people, it is infectious and I positively leave the building with a skip. So yes, Ross – it is important that you point these things out to us because sometimes we are so busy with the hardship of day to day life we forget how we can lighten the load by a little deed of kindness.

Leave a Reply

