Apologies…

007  I’m sorry there’s been a shortage of freshly squeezed blogs lately.

We’ve had no phone or Internet connection for over a week now. And it’s not as if I can pop into an Internet cafe to work. It’s ten miles to the nearest town even if I was prepared to slither my way there over compacted snow and ice. Fresh falls forecast.

I’ve walked to our nearest neighbour’s occasionally to log on or send BT strong emails, but we are just one insignificant customer down the end of a single track lane on the edge of their world and they have bigger businesses to attend to no doubt. Add to that an intermittent mobile signal and these challenges can make us feel quite excluded from the modern world sometimes.

But the glory of rural living is that there are other treasures outside our door.

And it has also made me turn my attention to other things for a while; writing away from the disturbances of the Net and gallivanting off outside marvelling at the scenery beyond the challenges.

I’ve also had the delights of the youngest back here a bit who has helped me make a film of a short reading from ‘A Funny Kind Of Education’ which will soon be available on YouTube. We had a great laugh filming it, especially the bits I kept bungling, which she insisted on collating into a film of bloopers too. I can’t decide whether to release that or not; I have an image to maintain (!?) and bad language was involved! But she says I should. She says it shows the lighter side of the educational process – we were both learning after all and her learning days here whilst home educating were far more fun than serious. And as all you home educators know – the lighter the learning is the better it works!

Hopefully, more soon….

3 thoughts on “Apologies…

  1. Blinking Nora! You have been cut off. It sounds as though you have had fun in a funny kind of way – it could be said that years of HEing have taught you that if you can’t do one thing to do then find another thing to do. Much love, Michelle.

Leave a Reply

