Anyone got a Tit like mine?

  I’m woken in a sweat of alarm. Something’s tapping incessantly against our bedroom window from first light. And first light at this time of the summer is not an hour I wish to be awake.

I couldn’t work out what it was. Couldn’t decide how an intruder – or an admirer says she thinking wishfully? – could reach our bedroom window one floor up and a mass of thorny overgrowth to get through. I sat rigid with listening for ages. Then it all went quiet but sleep was impossible after such an adrenalin rush of alarm.

But I caught it later. It had started again, this time the curtains were open and guess what it was? A belligerent little Blue Tit peck, peck, pecking on the glass and then glaring in the window as if we had no right to be inside. Hammering again as fiercely as a woodpecker. Not even me walking over to the window half dressed seemed to deter it and that’s usually enough to distract most people.

You’d think it would give itself a headache. It’s certainly giving me one, rousing us with its drilling impression before we’re ready for consciousness. Perhaps it suffers from OCD and it’s got a thing about panes.

I armed myself with the camera and tried to snap it. But it flitted back and forth so fast I ended up with fifty shots of an empty window before I managed it.

I wondered if it was after greenfly but the roses are clear – apart from the fact they’re covered in bird poo now. And it does seem to be the window that it’s tapping on.

Has anyone else had experience of this, or is it just us who has a Tit with some kind of condition?

 

8 thoughts on “Anyone got a Tit like mine?

  1. Possibly it thinks it’s defending its territory from the strange hard bird it’s seeing in the glass reflection. A male would certainly keep checking back to see if the stranger was trying to sneak through your house once more to take over his space.
    You do have a way with titles. I’m glad it’s me reading your posts, I think my dh would have stopped following you by now! :-D

  2. I’ve heard of some things but having a tit stalker beats the lot. Only joking. I have a blackbird which sits on the post in the front garden and stares at me through the window when I’m in the sitting room. It can be most disconcerting.

Leave a Reply

